Testimonials

Many people who toured with Black Forest Tours have provided feedback after returning home. And quite a few people have returned for another tour – realizing that there is a lot more to see in the Black Forest. We are constantly trying to improve our tours so please submit your feedback after your experience touring the Black Forest!

Black Forest Tours
5.0
Based on 19 reviews
powered by Facebook
Kristin Lee
Kristin Lee
2019-11-10T19:07:57+0000
My parents were visiting Germany for the first time so we decided to spend the day with Black Forest Tours. Simone was... so knowledgeable and was able to share so many insights into the history and current events of the area. The tour also allowed us to see so many unique places in one day without having to deal with the hassle of figuring out the logistics of how to get from point A to point B while hiking in a foreign country. We would definitely recommend her and would love to go back to the beautiful Black Forest area in the future!read more
Graeme Harding
Graeme Harding
2019-05-07T05:43:52+0000
Simone is very knowledgeable on her Black Forest area from flowers, to hiking tracks, through clocks and waterfalls; to... hidden gems like natural cooling cabinets. You won’t be disappointed in Black Forest Toursread more
Randi Alexander
Randi Alexander
2018-10-25T21:37:02+0000
My friend and I went on a private tour with Simone this week. We knew the Black Forest was on our must do list of... activities but were overwhelmed by the possibilities and hiking options. Taking this tour was the best decision we made for our trip. Not only did we luck out with perfect weather, but we had the perfect tour and felt completely satisfied with the experience. from waterfalls and hikes to coo coo clocks and black forest centric foods, we covered it all within a few hours. After the tour Simone gave us recommendations for places to go in Freiburg (check out the Freierling Brewery) and also gave us tips for the rest of our European trip, which I have to say were extraordinary recommendations. Do this tour and hope for Simone it's worth every penny.read more
Robert Fields
Robert Fields
2018-10-21T18:51:14+0000
Beautiful area and of course plenty of Coo-Coo clocks to choose from.
Kathy Eichelberger
Kathy Eichelberger
2018-09-17T11:51:42+0000
Simone took four of us exploring and hiking in the Black Forest -- first time for each of us. She went at our pace... and made recommendations of things to see and we made the decisions. What a beautiful day we had seeing the countryside and visiting the Black Forest region.read more
Bill Caffey
Bill Caffey
2018-01-24T13:51:49+0000
Heide Reddrop
Heide Reddrop
2017-08-31T15:49:54+0000
Siu Kar Luen
Siu Kar Luen
2017-08-27T12:09:09+0000
Thank you Simone for the hospitality. We really enjoyed the lovely scenery and nice weather in Black Forest. Will... definitely come back again!read more
Michael W Roddy Jr
Michael W Roddy Jr
2017-03-21T10:22:21+0000
Polly Raub Roddy
Polly Raub Roddy
2017-03-21T02:24:09+0000
We just finished the tour yesterday with Simone it was fantastic.
David Miller
David Miller
2016-08-05T00:03:29+0000
Simone was incredible, she knows where to allow you to experience the Black Forest unlike anyone else. My family loved... the 8 hour tour.read more
Trisha Webb
Trisha Webb
2016-04-11T18:36:34+0000
I most love your Facebook feed. It really did hit me and made me smile. My dream would come true visit Germany one... month. Maybe next year. Such a Good vacation. Will you please give me information a place stay, cost foods, drinks, any transportation for free than cost pay taxi, and would be glad I could go back Germany one Month. I love beers, German foods and love sight seeing. ❤️read more
Shriniwas Joshi
Shriniwas Joshi
2015-08-02T20:20:27+0000
Hello Simone, My wife and I would like to thank you for arranging our tour for us. We really appreciate your... professionalism while dealing with our changing plans and patience you had shown through endless email conversations. In the end you gave us a tour my family enjoyed thoroughly. In addition, please convey our gratitude to driver Manne who is absolutely fabulous. He is resourceful, informative and very helpful. My wife and I had interesting conversation with him throughout the tour about history of Black Forest and various local traditions. He never seemed annoyed with my questions, though I tried my best ;)We are already planning to visit Black Forest in few years time for a leisurely vacation and needless to say, I will be contacting you.Thanks againread more
Sabine Abinader
Sabine Abinader
2015-07-20T19:59:22+0000
We booked three 8 hour-drive-me-tours with BF Tours and it was great!! Simone provided us with all kind of information,... maps & brochures to help us, she was always ready to answer our questions anytime and she even helped us explore Freibourg-im- breisgau (that we wanted to discover on our own) by giving us maps and documents! We will definitely be back to the magnificent BF!! ❤️ (S.Abinader)read more
Shanmugam Ramamurthy
Shanmugam Ramamurthy
2015-05-14T07:11:54+0000
The best tour, we enjoyed very much with our guide Simone Brixel,still we are talking about our tour,Thanks Simone... Brixel,From Rama.read more
Karla Streeter
Karla Streeter
2014-05-17T11:20:53+0000
Gessica Argenti
Gessica Argenti
2014-04-21T16:59:18+0000
Jürgen Feger
Jürgen Feger
2014-01-13T18:10:27+0000
Sasha Vindichansky
Sasha Vindichansky
2013-12-27T14:56:58+0000
Next Reviews
Black Forest Tours
4.7
Based on 42 reviews
powered by Google
Silvia Maggio
Silvia Maggio
13:47 26 Oct 22
A group of friends headed to Munich for Oktoberfest but wanted to enjoy some hiking time outside to the fest for the rest of our trip to Germany. We booked black forest tours based on the reviews and the ability to have our extra luggage schlepped without us having to carry all our stuff all day. ZERO REGRETS. Simone is amazing - she answered all our questions. The towns were simply magical and the trails were like walking through a fairy tale. I say all that knowing we had terrible weather. On the last day the wind and rain were so mighty there was some question about getting blown off the trail - it still didn't hamper how fantastic our trip was and how much fun we had. Everything from train directions, to trail directions (down to the "take 90 steps and turn left" detail) to details of who you are likely to meet along the trail and restaurant recommendations is written up for you. I cannot more highly recommend the Black Forest trek and this company - if you're on the fence, just go for it!
A Google User
A Google User
13:47 26 Oct 22
A group of friends headed to Munich for Oktoberfest but wanted to enjoy some hiking time outside to the fest for the rest of our trip to Germany. We booked black forest tours based on the reviews and the ability to have our extra luggage schlepped without us having to carry all our stuff all day. ZERO REGRETS. Simone is amazing - she answered all our questions. The towns were simply magical and the trails were like walking through a fairy tale. I say all that knowing we had terrible weather. On the last day the wind and rain were so mighty there was some question about getting blown off the trail - it still didn't hamper how fantastic our trip was and how much fun we had. Everything from train directions, to trail directions (down to the "take 90 steps and turn left" detail) to details of who you are likely to meet along the trail and restaurant recommendations is written up for you. I cannot more highly recommend the Black Forest trek and this company - if you're on the fence, just go for it!
Helen Dickey
Helen Dickey
14:45 02 Sep 22
Our experience with Black Forest Tours was top-notch! The communication was excellent and timely. The directions and the apps were very thorough and helpful in keeping us on the right path. The trails themselves had some wonderful features - gorgeous views, self-serve spots for drinks and snacks, varying landscapes, historical points of interest, and an amazing diversity of forests. We loved the little towns and hotels where we stayed each night. Black Forest Tours chose well! Each hotel was a restful haven with great breakfasts, and there was plenty of delicious food in the vicinity to refresh us after each day's hike. We would use Black Forest Tours again in a heartbeat. Thank you for a fun vacation!
Catherine Maybury
Catherine Maybury
11:24 24 Jun 22
Our family had an amazing tour of the Black Forest! It was the highlight of our 3 week trip to Germany. We loved learning the history of the Black Forest, seeing beautiful towns that were not filled with tourists, taking a short hike by a waterfall and a delicious lunch at a restaurant in the middle of the Black Forest. We highly recommend Black Forest Tours. Simone was easy to reach and very helpful in creating a tour specific to our requests. Our guide was very knowledgeable, attentive to our requests and so much fun. We loved our day in the Black Forest.
Sara Fabiny
Sara Fabiny
08:45 02 Jan 20
Our tour with Simone was just brilliant! Simone is such an easy going person, the kind of person that you actually consider a friend by the end of the day. She was super knowledgeable and made the day about us and what we wanted to see and do. She was also great for offering advice about lots of different things. We will definitely be doing another tour when we return as we know it will be worth it!! Could not recommend Simone and her tour company more - just perfect 🙂
Zach Boren
Zach Boren
08:23 09 Oct 19
Fantastic experience. Beautiful trails, terrific towns, and Simone makes everything so easy. Without worrying about luggage, or having to spend lots of time planning your path, you can really make the most of the forest.
Raven Sanders
Raven Sanders
00:19 09 Oct 19
We thoroughly enjoyed our tour with Simone. When planning our trip we were overwhelmed with all of the choices of what to do and where to go in the Black Forest. We found Black Forest Tours and opted for the 8 hour tour, and we were not disappointed! She took us to see both the world's widest and largest cuckoo clocks, the Triberg waterfall, castle ruins, and a beautiful town. Along the way we learned so much about German history and culture. We tried Black Forest Ham and spaghetti ice cream, and she gave us a heads up about a local wine festival to attend once the tour was over which was a lot of fun. There is no way we would have gotten this much value over even a week on our own, and the tour felt customized to everything we had hoped to see. We highly recommend Black Forest Tours!
Carlos Moore
Carlos Moore
12:00 08 Oct 19
My fiancee and I were planning on visiting Germany and were looking for something unique to end our trip with when after some research I found Black Forest Tours. Touring the Black Forest has long been a bucket list item for me and with my 50th birthday happening my fiancee decided that this was her gift. After working with Simone on what we wanted to visit and do, she came up with a plan tailored for us. We opted for a 4 day hike/5 nights trip plan which would include hiking, visiting towns we were interested in, and schnapps fountains that I heard so much about.When we arrived in our first town at the train station, we were immediately met by a driver who took us to the first hotel: a lovely spa hotel in the mountains where the next morning we'd start our adventure. The room was relaxing with a balcony view of the small town church and village below. In our room, we found a bag filled with maps, goodies, and information from Simone Brixel detailing our next 5 days hiking.After breakfast the next morning, we started our hike through the Black Forest which was amazing. We couldn't believe the views and sights that we saw on just the first day. After a hard hike (we had small day packs and hiking poles which really helped), we arrived at the next town and the next hotel with our suitcases waiting for us in our room. The hiking was challenging but extremely fun even in the rain. The directions provided by Simone were detailed and extremely accurate and easy to follow.Each hotel was fantastic (although some were better than others) but we enjoyed them all. Each town had charm and was off the beaten path which was exactly what we were looking for. The food was excellent, the people were nice, and the experience is not to be missed.I cannot recommend Black Forest Tours enough and can't wait to head back for another experience with them.
Lue F
Lue F
19:20 08 Sep 19
Our favorite tour of all of the ones we took in Europe was with Simone. She personalized our tour and was flexible to change it up on the fly when the weather changed. Simone is quick to communicate and keep in touch before and during the tour. When we come back to the Black Forest area, Simone will be the first person we contact.
suraj guha
suraj guha
08:50 31 Jul 19
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for the excellent arrangement you had done for the tour. All places were wonderful and references to them were helpful. Our driver Peter was extremely helpful and jovial. My family and I absolutely loved it. I have already recommended your company and will definitely continue to recommend this to my family and friends.
Villareal Clan
Villareal Clan
20:26 20 Jul 19
Black Forest Tours prepared an amazing trip for us - very detailed trail maps with lots of 'extras' and info about the area. They also booked great hotels and each day our luggage was transferred without any issue (and usually waiting for us in our room). I HIGHLY recommend booking your next trip to the Black Forest with them!
Larissa Davis
Larissa Davis
12:45 20 Jul 19
When planning our trip to Germany, my mom and I knew we wanted to see the Black Forest. Of course, we didn’t know all that the Black Forest could offer and really wasn’t sure what to do with our time there. Upon booking our tour with Black Forest Tours, we still weren’t completely sure what to see and do. However, Simone listened to our interests and made the perfect day. We saw parts of the Black Forest we would never see on a major tour bus with a lot of people. Like visiting a small farmers grocers where we got to taste local fruits and schnapps! We also visited a small locally owned mill where we had the opportunity to taste some delicious Black Forest Ham. And, of course, we visited a quaint town with the best cake!Simone catered the entire day to us and made us feel comfortable the whole time. It was a huge relief having someone that was very familiar with the area and language. We never felt rushed or uncomfortable. Simone has spent a lot of time in the U.S and understands the cultural differences that come with traveling to a new country you aren’t familiar with. She even went over and beyond a normal tour guide and helped us navigate the rest of our time in Europe, not just The Black Forest.I recommend anyone traveling to the Black Forest area of Germany to book a tour with the Black Forest Tours. You will not regret visiting the beautiful area and having a knowledgeable tour guide by your side!
Aslam Vaid
Aslam Vaid
18:46 22 Jun 19
I decided to do just the 5 hour drive only tour . Must say that one can definitely do it on your own for far less than what I paid. Just my laziness to not do any homework. One can easily hire a car from freiburg and drive to the points of interest if you goggle it..very pleasant driver and excellent route but not worth paying so much. One can do it on their own for less than the amount i paid.Am sure the guided tour must by a better option.
Next Reviews
js_loader

We are proud that our tours have received coverage in several magazines. Please have a look at our press coverage page to have a look!

Here is an excerpt from Rick Steve’s travel blog:

Freiburg and Baden-Baden vie to be the leading home-base city for those visiting the Black Forest. While Baden-Baden has an old spa-and-casino elegance, Freiburg is much younger and livelier. I explored Freiburg with Simone Brixel, a local guide who always makes my visits much more enjoyable and meaningful.’Rick Steves, Travel Lessons from Germany’s Black Forest

Thank you Michelle for putting this fun video together after our tour:
Here is a a  slide show a visitor put together after touring with me:
We also offer corporate retreats, events and team-building in the Black Forest. Here is a short video of a multiple-day hiking tour we set up for a US-based company:
Here are some of the videos travelguru Rick Steves took while we were touring the Black Forest together:

Thinking of touring on your own? Read what people think about our downloadable tours (2gotours) here.

Most importantly – I want to say THANK YOU to all the visitors from around the world who chose me and my guides to spend a few hours of their precious vacation time with. I love that you are curious & adventurous travellers interested in exploring an off-the-beaten path area like the Black Forest. Please stay in touch – I enjoy every moment of showing you around and hope to see you again one day!